The Social Network

The Social network

If you guys were the inventors of Facebook….youd’ve invented Facebook.

The Social Network is a triumph, truly a film that defines a generation. David Fincher is one of my favorite directors, and this film is a solid entry in his impressive filmography. All I needed to see was David Fincher directing and Aaron Sorkin writing, and I was sold on “the Facebook movie” already.

The star of this film is Aaron Sorkin’s screenplay, which justly won him his first (really?) Oscar. His script is witty, fast-paced, and incredibly rich with dialogue, as is typical of a Sorkin script. I am a huge Aaron Sorkin fan, and like I said, all I needed was to hear his name and Fincher’s on the project and I knew I was going to see this. Jesse Eisenberg does a very impressive job not only as Mark Zuckerberg, but using the drama of the film to distance himself from his previous “slacker comedy” stigma. Andrew Garfield does an equally great job as best friend Eduardo Saverin, as does Armie Hammer pulling double duty as the Winklevoss twins.

I guarantee you’ll walk away from this impressed with the cast, the writing, and the film as a whole. If you shrugged this off just as “the Facebook movie”, take this as a second opinion and go see it. I dare ya.

Arbitrary Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

