Now, Voyager

Now, Voyager

Don’t lets ask for the moon. We have the stars.

Now, Voyager is a standard romance tale, but that’s not to say it’s bad. Admittedly, this movie caught me while I was in an impatient mood, not wanting to sit through another 2 hour classical film. The first thing that struck me out of this mood and showed hints that the film was something more then average was the cinematography. Most of the time, it was standard, but at certain points, it was very striking. There was good use of shadows to break up the images so that the film did not remain static.

The other thing was Bette Davis, who is quickly becoming one of my favorite classical actresses. I’d seen her before in Jezebel, and the startlingly different character she portrays here impressed me not just for how well she plays, but how well she disappears into the character. I absolutely love actors that can do this consistently (Gary Oldman is a modern example that springs to mind, also Daniel Day-Lewis), and this is probably why Davis is rapidly climbing my ladder of admiration. Davis is truly one of the great talents of the screen, and one to be inspired by; she excels in this role, as I am now quick to assume she does in all her roles.

This would probably be standard fare if not for Bette Davis and the on-screen romance she partakes in. I can recommend this for her alone; unfortunately, that also means I am recommending it for her alone. The second half of the film strides through slightly different territory, but Davis is always the center and always holds highly. An above-average romantic drama with a hardy center in Davis’ performance.

Arbitrary Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

