The Awful Truth

The Awful Truth

Things are the way you think I made them.

The Awful Truth is advertised as a screwball comedy, so immediately I was on my guard. Thankfully, this is a comedy that I actually enjoyed for once, probably because it wasn’t as screwball as others have been. Starring Cary Grant and Irene Dunne and directed by Leo McCarey, this is a delightfully funny comedy that also stars one of the most darling film puppies I think I’ve ever seen.

Cary Grant and Irene Dunne play their parts to comedic perfection, and indeed Grant’s future performances would be forever altered thanks to his success in this film. The line about the rooster and the hen who fight and make up perfectly summarizes the whole film, so indeed why does the rest of the film exist but for pleasure? And pleasurable it is; the film succeeds where all of its other counterparts failed: at being genuinely hilarious. The script is brazenly witty, the situational humor never fails to arouse laughter; I actually laughed out loud at this film more than I think any other film since I’ve started my trek down the list. Who’d have thunk a screwball comedy (that admittedly isn’t very screwball) would do that to me?

This is a great, great comedy that features standout performances and stellar timing; all the comedic bits and pieces work to perfection here. What’s even more, this garnered an Academy Award nomination for Best Picture, and a win for Best Director, so even the critics loved this one. Hell, even I did, so what have you got to lose?

Arbitrary Rating: 9/10

P.S. Happy 300 reviews! Nice to know I’m at least a quarter done with my quest.

Leave a Reply

