Juliet of the Spirits (Giulietta degli spiriti)

Juliet of the Spirits

Poetry is never dangerous.

Juliet of the Spirits was Federico Fellini’s first full-length color feature film. I suspect it is this that has placed it on the must see list, because I can find no other reason; everything this film does has been done by other Fellini films and far better, there is really nothing new this brings to the table aside from the focus of the plot.

Everything I can think of to mention about how this film is made I feel I could say about any Fellini film, not just this one. The plot is standard Fellini; a series of vignettes surrounding a single subject or topic often punctuated by dream-like sequences that blend into the reality of the film. Take that summary, and you can say that about any of Fellini’s second-era works. The cinematography, however, is very pretty, fully rich with colors as Fellini explored the new medium for himself.

Filmed with a sense of whimsy, and very beautifully photographed, this is yet another of Fellini’s standard works, so it again left me wondering why it was special enough to be on the must see list. I know Fellini is well-regarded to say the least among directors of all time, but I can’t see why so many of his works have earned a place on the list, when so many of them are so similar. If it’s truly unique, like Satyricon, or a standout example of the director, like 8 1/2 or La Dolce Vita, I can see it, but this just left me wondering. Thankfully, I only have one more Fellini work left on the list, so I can say arrivederci to the director proper.

Arbitrary Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

