Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

What do I need manners for? I already got me a wife!

If you’re a fan of musicals, boy does the list ever suit your favor. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers is described by the Book as sexist, and it’s easy to see why upon viewing it. Directed by Stanley Donen, known for his collaborations with Gene Kelly that includes On the Town and Singin’ in the Rain, this is a musical that I saw once when I was younger, before the list was even a glimmer in my eye. I made note of the delightful musical numbers & choreographed dances and weak use of back projection, but other than that the film was rather forgettable to me.

The story is one that could only happen in a musical. Seven brothers, each named alphabetically, fall in love with seven girls from a backwoods barn-raisin’ farm town. The brothers make a bad impression on the town by getting into a fight with rival suitors of the girls, so being the reasonable course of action, they decide to kidnap the girls and start an avalanche so the townspeople can’t follow them. Naturally, being a musical, the girls fall for their kidnappers, and everything is wrapped up in a nice big beautiful bow at the end. The whole thing is a little creepy when viewed from the right angle, but it was the era of the musical where logic gives way to fancy, so the film can be forgiven somewhat for needlessly shoehorning itself into the popular genre of the time.

I was into the musical theater scene when I first saw this one, so I was a lot more forgiving of it than I am now. I feel as though this is one musical that could’ve been trimmed from the list to make room for something more deserving. Even still, I found myself humming along with the numbers even after they’d ended, so there’s at least some merit to be had here, especially if you’re fond of the genre. If you are, give it a chance and I’m sure you’ll like what you see; if not, there’s really no real reason to spend your time on this one.

Arbitrary Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

