My Left Foot

My Left Foot

I’m glad you taught me to speak, so I could say that.

To ask if I am a fan of Daniel Day-Lewis is to ask if the color of the sky is blue. The man is a god of acting, plain and simple, and his first Oscar win (well deserved) came with this film, My Left Foot. After seeing him in A Room with a View, I knew I had to see this one as soon as possible. The film itself is a good film, but it’s Day-Lewis that is the real star here, without question, and the whole film belongs to him, as well as the lovely Brenda Flicker who plays his mother.

To watch this film is to watch the master at the top of his game. Your eyes can’t help but be glued to Day-Lewis every second he is on screen; not just because of its uniqueness, but because of its raw power, the strength with which he commands the film. Christy Brown is a spectacular human being, with strengths and flaws like any of us, and it is in how Day-Lewis gets these across despite the handicap that makes his performance even more incredible. But to compliment Day-Lewis is only to compliment one half of the role; equally up to the task is the young actor to play Christy Brown in his youth, Hugh O’Conor, who beautifully matches Day-Lewis in their realization of the role. As for the film itself, it is decently made, and while the musical backing can get a bit ham-handed, it’s good-natured, like the whole film is.

I realize I haven’t said much about the film apart from my gushing of Day-Lewis and his performance, but I guess that’s because the film has so little to say about itself. Other than the acting, there’s no outstanding features, though the script deserves special mention for being the building blocks the actors springboarded off from. Still, the film manages to be good, and entertaining, and very watchable, and it doesn’t overstay its welcome, so in that, the film is a success. This is definitely a winner, and one you should check out if you ever get the chance.

Arbitrary Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

