High Society

High Society

There’s a dark horse in this here race, and my boy’s running a slow third.

High Society is probably one of the rare examples in classic cinema of a reboot, or reimagining, a term that has become quite prevalent in today’s modern movie vocabulary. The film is a musical adaptation of 1940’s The Philadelphia Story, a film that I personally found fairly decent. Why they decided to remake this film as a musical is beyond me, as aside from the fact that it’s in color, there’s almost no other redeeming qualities that make this worth the time put into it.

If anything, the trio of big names will put a smile on your face; Bing Crosby, Grace Kelly, and Frank Sinatra are the love triangle this time, joined by a third man played by John Lund. The affable female (Kelly) falls for each man in turn, and must choose between them by movie’s end. Naturally, as a musical, everything turns out pretty much happy for everyone; not that I could have been arsed to care about anyone except for the fact that I simply was required to to invest myself in the film. Well, this must have caught me on a bad day, or maybe I just don’t like reboots (mainly because they rarely can hold a candle to the original; there are a few exceptions, and this wasn’t one of them), but I just couldn’t invest myself into this at any rate of effort.

All in all, what I ended up with from this film was that it really didn’t need to be made at all. Everything that the film has to offer can be found elsewhere and in better form, and that goes right down to the plot. This is just an unnecessary film; both in how it was made and in how it should be watched, which I can’t really give any significant reasons to do so. If you don’t like musicals, this will rub you the wrong way, and if you’re in it for the story, The Philadelphia Story is nearly the same and better. I’ll give it points for effort, but I don’t really know why this one even made the list.

Arbitrary Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

