An Affair to Remember

An Affair to Remember

“We’re headed into a rough sea, Nicky.” “I know.”

Again, I’ll be honest with this; I’ve been putting off watching this one for some time. Pure romance films aren’t really my thing, and the ones I’ve reviewed up to now in the blog I’ve been ambivalent towards, at best. Nevertheless, I took the plunge and popped in An Affair to Remember, directed by Leo McCarey and starring Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr as the star-crossed lovers who struggle to find a way to be together, and so on and so forth. While the interplay between the characters was interesting, and the romantic angle was played to its highest, most of what this film had to offer unfortunately wasn’t for me.

The story is simple, and straightforward; Grant and Kerr meet aboard a ship and become friends, and fairly soon a little more than that. Seeing as they are both set to be tied to others, they agree to meet at the Empire State Building in six months if their love is to be, and if the other doesn’t show up, that’s their answer. Naturally, the meeting doesn’t go as planned, and the film becomes a “will they, won’t they”, much like most romantic films tend to be. For a film that’s almost two hours long, not much happens in this one; I could probably give you a complete summary of the film in the somewhat limited space of one of my average reviews and still have the time to talk about the film itself. Still, for a film that meanders an awful lot along its narrative, it does keep the focus on the characters as it should be.

For a film with a center of hardy talent in Grant and Kerr, the film sure doesn’t know what to do with what it’s go; the two pass the time well enough, but the film never takes any chances or lets them cut loose in any way; this is as by-the-books a romance as you could hope to find, so if that’s your sort of thing you’ll find this right up your alley, but if you’re looking for something with a little more gusto, look elsewhere. This is probably one of the most powerful and classic screen romances of all time, and I can appreciate it well enough, but this just wasn’t my type of film, and I couldn’t help but be bored through most of it; but again, that’s just me, and I can’t hold it against the film at any rate.

Arbitrary Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

