Candy Man

Candyman

What’s blood for, if not for shedding?

Candyman is a film, much like the horror films of the 70s, that tries to bring urban legends to life on the screen. Starring Tony Todd as the killer, and directed by Bernard Rose, this one probably gets the closest to doing just that. However, bringing an urban legend to the big screen isn’t as easy as one might think, and as Candyman is proof of, some source material isn’t really strong and steady enough to hold up the weight of a full film.

The film features Virginia Madsen as an intrepid college student working on her thesis project, all about urban legends. Little does she know how true some of these legends may turn out to be… heh heh heh… yeah, I’m being cliche and trite, but the whole backbone of this film is cliche and trite, so I think I can be granted a little leeway. The film is probably the cream of the crop of your standard scare-em-ups, with most of the actual scares coming from the “jump out at you” shock factor. But still, the film managed to be rather creepy at times, even if it strained the edges of credibility to do it. The score comes to us from Philip Glass, who also did Koyaanisqatsi, Mishima, and The Thin Blue Line, among others, and he is quickly becoming one of my favorite composers, though his work is somewhat one-note, I’ll admit.

This is another one that I’m not too sure should’ve made the list in the first place, and I’m sensing that’s a pattern that will continue with these list removals (at least, the early ones). Candyman is enjoyable, certainly, and it has a “Golden Age” of horror sensibility that makes it a modern classic of the genre. But, for me personally, this just had way too many implausible moments and scenes for me to really suspend my disbelief enough for them. I’ve never been a fan of horror, and especially over the last few years of my life, I’ve completely had my fill of it, so Candyman certainly didn’t have me in its target audience. But, for what it’s worth, I got through this okay, so for those people within said target audience, this’ll be a right good watch for them.

Arbitrary Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

