–Intermission–

So, as I’m sure you can see, I have a new blog design. It’s been something I’ve been meaning to do for some time now, and I decided to wait until the two year anniversary of my starting this blog, which is today. Actually, the new design’s been up for a couple days already, but you can consider this the official unveiling.

I’ve purposefully made the color scheme as close to the old site as I could, because I liked the color scheme of the old site, which is why I picked that theme to begin with, but this theme has one major thing that the old theme didn’t: a header image. Most of the other movie blogs I’ve come across have had a header image, from various films (or, indeed, a single collage of various films) and various personal tastes. I’d given some thought as to what I would possibly have as a header image should I decide to have one, and it’s what I have decided that has prompted this explanation post; only the second non-review post ever on my blog, after the intro.

Right now, the image is the closing shot of the first act of Gone With the Wind, the iconic “I’ll never go hungry again” speech and zoom-out. I started this blog with a Gone With the Wind review (as I seriously love that film), and it felt only appropriate to start the header images with the same, but don’t get too used to it, or think that I’ve decided on a single image to represent the blog with; the header image will cycle every month to a new iconic image from the history of film. Some you will undoubtedly recognize, some may take a little thinking to pin the film down, but all of them will hopefully be, in their various ways, emblematic of the medium of film that I love so much.

So expect a new header image every month, as my memory permits at least, and I hope you’ll continue to stick with me as I close out what will likely be the final year of my quest, if I stick to at least one film a day. As for what I’ll do with the blog when I do finish, well, I’ve got another year or so to figure that out.

Happy filming.

Leave a Reply

