Outro (or: The End…?)

Well, here we are, or rather, here I am; a little under three years after I started this blog, I can say that I’ve seen every film in the Book. I could say a number of things, such as “It’s been a hell of an experience/adventure” or “I’ve seen so many amazing films, plus some I’d have rather not seen”, which are all true in their own way, but really, I’m left with surprisingly little to say. I wanted there to be some sort of grand conclusion to this whole quest, both for myself and for anyone who’s been keeping up with this blog, but here at the end, aside from the high coming off of the greatness of the last film I watched, it feels a little anticlimactic. I realize that I’ve finished the Quest, but, aside from the 2013 additions that should be out in the next month or so (if the ones that were leaked earlier this month are incorrect, which I don’t think they are), I’m merely left with a question I had figured for a while now would be waiting for me at the end: What do I do now?

Honestly, I’m not sure. When I started this blog, I had intended it to be a self-contained exercise; reviews for all the films in the Book, and that be that. The more it went on, though, the more I couldn’t see myself stopping after it was all over and done with. Since then, I’ve considered working on other lists, like the They Shoot Pictures Don’t They list, or the 101 Genre Movies books, but part of me is a little scared to try and start another massive undertaking like this one again, especially since I’ve heard about a few films on both lists that are nigh impossible to track down, even more so than the 1001 List. Another idea I’ve considered is simply doing reviews for the other films that I have in my personal library, which aren’t too many, but I don’t know; knowing me, I’ll probably just play it by ear.

One thing’s for sure; I will definitely be taking a break, even if it ends up only being a brief one. I wanted to finish before the next edition came out, though the films in the new one were apparently leaked near the beginning of the month, so I technically might’ve failed in that regard, but even still, with the announcement and jacket text posted on AmazonUK, plus the actual list on the official 1001 site, which seems to confirm the leaked entries, there’s at least some films I can watch and write reviews for for when the new edition ships (two of which I’ve seen, but will happily watch again for the sake of reviewing them). After that, though… who knows.

I guess I should make another announcement as well. It’s been a year since the site redesign and the addition of the header images, which have rotated monthly since I started with them. I got bored one day a while ago, and went through the Book, collecting header images for a whole bunch of films; so much so that, given a rough calculation, if I were to keep rotating it every month, I’d have enough for at least the next decade. That’s a long time to wait on some of them, plus, depending on what I end up doing with the site, I don’t really feel like having to wait on it hand and foot every month updating the header, especially if I do take an extended break. To that end, I’ve found a setting in WordPress to where it will randomly select a header image from a database of media files I can provide every time a new page is loaded, so I’ve decided to go ahead and do that. As of right now, the header image for my site is now randomized to pick from a huge selection I’ve uploaded, and from time to time I will try and add more to it. Maybe at some point in the future I’ll have a header for every film in the Book. I doubt it, but you never know.

So yeah, thanks for following along with me, for those of you that have been, and for whatever I end up doing from here. Whatever I do end up doing, hopefully it won’t be too long until I do.

Keep on filming.
-Adol

5 thoughts on “Outro (or: The End…?)

  1. Congrats! Huge accomplishment! And I like that you gave yourself a little title joke/present with your last film on the list.

    Take a break–you’ve earned it. It’s going to feel really weird for a couple of days.

  2. My sincere apologies. I somehow missed this back when you posted it. I just checked in now to see where you were since I figured you had to be just about done with the list.

    Big congratulations on your accomplishment! As I said to Steve when he finished, I only watched all the movies. What the two of you have done impresses me more because you’ve posted on them, too.

    In regards to doing other lists, yes there seem to be hard ones to find on any list primarily put together from critics’ feedback (i.e. TSPDT, Sight and Sound, etc.) If it helps I’ve tracked down pretty much all films across a number of different lists other than the 1,001 Movies ones. I wish I could say I’ve hung onto all of them, but there may be some in the TSPDT list that I’ve deleted once I saw them.

    Another note on tackling another list, since I went through the same “what next?” question. I did a couple of smaller ones, and having seen the movies in the 1001 movies list already that made the effort even smaller. Even the 1,000 movie long TSPDT list, which I am doing now, had only 300+ left for me to see when I started it.

    Have you considered lists that offer more mainstream fare? There are the AFI lists. I have a consolidated list of those at my Lists from Chip site. I also have a unique creation of my own where I have been capturing the IMDB Top 250 list at the end of every year since 1998. I’ve built a consolidated and weighted list from those. It’s also at my Lists from Chip site.

Leave a Reply

