1001 Movies: 2017 Update/Leak

So, after I found out that Amazon.co.uk’s entry for the next edition had updated it’s description of the volume, confirming three new films, I nonchalantly went to the Amazon.com version to see if they had changed theirs as well. They hadn’t, however, but on a whim I clicked on the Look Inside feature present on the site, which had previously shown inside one of the past editions, since the new edition was obviously not available to preview. Imagine my surprise when I found myself looking at, or rather inside, the actual new edition. Christmas in July!

Not only is the new edition of the book up for preview on Amazon, it is almost wholly intact, not just the first few pages or so; not only was I able to glean the new additions from the page numbers in the checklist at the front of the book (and the genre index at the back), the new entries are even viewable in their actual printed format, complete with the excerpts written about them for the Book’s inclusion, with only a few pages missing, the contents of which I was able to discern again through the checklist at the front or the genre/picture index at the back of the book (which amazingly is even searchable in this preview feature).

My surprise at all this aside, here’s the new additions, or at the least the new ones from 2016 (plus one outlier from 2015):

Victoria (2015)
La La Land (2016)
Hell or High Water (2016)
The Jungle Book (2016)
Jackie (2016)
Toni Erdmann (2016)
Under the Shadow (2016)
Manchester by the Sea (2016)
I, Daniel Blake (2016)
13th (2016)
Arrival (2016)
Moonlight (2016)

Considering the format of the Book seems pretty locked in at this point, given that nearly the entire thing is viewable on Amazon, I’m figuring, why the hell not: I’ll go ahead and update my list and the wiki’s once this post is done. As for how I plan to tackle the 12 new films, whether I’m gonna alternate between them and the Best Picture odyssey, or just do one of the new ones every week like I’ve done in the past, I’m not sure yet; I’ll play it by ear, I guess. I’m still amazed that all this got put up this early, and in such a complete format, but I guess I won’t complain. 😀

Happy filming!

One thought on “1001 Movies: 2017 Update/Leak

Leave a Reply

